Horrifying warning from GitHub integration


#1

I have separate Sentry installations for my staging and production apps in Heroku. I was testing out release configuration on the staging environment and wanted to enable it in production as well, but in order to do that I apparently have to remove the integration from the staging app.

When I attempt to do this, I am presented with the following:

Please tell me this is a joke. It cannot possibly intend to delete the associated repository… Right?


#2

I take it nobody from Sentry actually reads these forums.


#3

The sentry GitHub app does not request write/delete permissions to your repository and thus cannot delete any data in GitHub.

The repository and commit data are only removed from Sentry. We give a warning as there is not a realistic way to recover the commit data stored in sentry outside of updating all the releases you’ve ever made.