Sentry + custom native client + stack traces

I’ve created a custom client for posting native errors to sentry that includes stack traces. How do I get symbolication to run on these event stack traces? I’m uploading the debug information files with sentry-cli successfully and sentry is parsing the stack traces successfully. However, I don’t see how sentry can correlate the instuction_addrs that I’m including to specific debug information files. I see that the list of debug information files from the settings page has the build id that I could include in the stack trace json, but I don’t see anything in the docs on how I would include that.

In NativeStacktraceProcessor, it seems that sentry is calling out to symbolic to determine what object to use (ObjectLookup). I naively tried just using obj_uuid as a field name in the json, but that didn’t work.

I’m not an expert in how our native symbolification works, but is this a case where you could just use breakpad/crashpad?

That’s an option, but I’d rather not have to take the performance hit of generating a minidump each time I report an error.

Not much I can add here, but the performance hit on a serious error should be insignificant.

This may or may not be relevant, but our symbolification stuff also only works on known formats, and we don’t support all types of binary formats yet even with said formats.

It might help to provide more information about the runtime and distribution.

We’re generating stack traces on a more frequent basis than just serious errors. We often want to generate the stack trace before deciding if it’s worth sending to Sentry.

What I’m doing is pretty standard. I’m using gcc 8.1.0 and extracting the debug information using objcopy --only-keep-debug and uploading it using sentry-cli. I don’t think formats are the issue. I think the issue is just my ignorance of some of the details of what fields I should populating with what when I send events.