Single point of failure on On-Premise

I’m working on a POC on on-premise Sentry server on AWS. Currently, I’m running default on-premise Sentry server on a single EC2 with default configuration.

Have a question regarding to single point of failure using default setting. What is a general plan to avoid single point of failure? As far as I understood, there are a couple:

• Webserver - we can create autoscaling group and load balance before this.
  • datastore - clickhouse and Postgres in Sentry 10, what would be a best way to avoid single point of failure on this?
  • cache, event process - Kafka and Redis, do we need to think more on this over single point of failure

In general, we don’t expect our data to be very large, so I believe ,we don’t need to worry much on Scaling. However, if we don’t scale horizontally, is there a way to schedule a clean up so as to avoid data base growing too big?

I’m very new to Sentry, thanks for any help :slight_smile: I will definitely return the favor to the community with my experience throughout the journey.

Thanks,
Martin

1 Like

We already have built-in clean up tasks. You may play with the event retention period: https://github.com/getsentry/onpremise/blob/f4c309624538ca0ebce1ca5b0ab714f0b22d9921/.env#L2

I’ll be honest, if you want your Sentry instance to scale and w/o SPoFs, and you are asking around, you should probably consider using https://sentry.io where this is all taken care for you :slight_smile:

Now, after the shameless plug, here are some thoughts:

1. Your initial failure point very likely be redis which holds everything in memory and is both used as a key-value store and as a poor man’s task queue. The first thing I’d do would be to add in rabbitmq for the task queues.