Some very newbie questions about Sentry

I am a hobbyist and very new to Sentry and to error handling services in general.
Since I am finishing my first ruby on rails application which integrates Sidekiq for background jobs, I was ‘redirected’ to Sentry from Sidekiq GitHub page looking for ways to monitor eventual exceptions.

Considering my actual needs, I am interested in the free plan.
Hoping I am in the right place, I have some questions about it and error handling by Sentry in general,which I could not find answers about in the documentation.

The free plan offers 10,000 events per month of free capacity with a default rate limit of 500 events/minute.
To me, 10,000 events look so huge! In what circumstances can this size be reached?
I apologize for this naive question, but at present I have no idea about how many exceptions can be raised by a single application, and no idea about what kind of user profile can spend this amount of capacity.

Will notifications be sent to the email address I sign up with or to a my_username@sentry.io address?

In the Sidekiq documentation it is written that smarter error handling services “will send email on the 1st, 3rd and 10th identical error so your inbox won’t be overwhelmed if 1000s of jobs are failing”. How will Sentry do behave in particular circumstances like these?

The plan for Hobbyists is for only one user: what do you mean with ‘user’?
I read the little documentation on membership and could not find the definition of user in Sentry’s context, however I found in the ‘pricing’ documentation that the free tier offers 1 team member. So is a ‘user’ meant to be a synonym of ‘member’?

What is the default setting of a new account? Will I have to manually set monthly limits to avoid my account be automatically switched to a paid account or the 10,000 limit will be honoured in case events exceed this quota (which means that further event will be ignored)?

Is a credit or debit card needed to sign up for a free account?